Photos: From the Campsite to Cane Creek

I got a really early start the next morning because I knew I had a really long way to go that day — at least nine miles from what the park ranger had told me. I had woken up with the sun and and started moving around before it was very bright. But soon the sky welcomed me with a nice colorful dawn. I was on my way before 7:30 AM, but not before a couple of pain killers for my muscle. I went really slowly during that first section until they kicked in.

There was one really interesting “tree” that I noticed as I walked. It was really the dead stump of a tree that had broken off about seven or eight feet above the ground. I caught it out of the corner of my eye as I was walking along and immediately had to do a double-take. It looked exactly like a person in horrible pain and grief, with mouth gaping wide and one arm thrown over the eyes, weeping. It’s hard to explain how that popped into my mind all in a flash like that. I was reminded instantly of the ent Treebeard in J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings stories, grieving over the loss of his trees.

Do you see what I’m talking about here:
Grieving Tree

Soon after seeing that, the trail took a decided turn… straight down. It got really steep as it went down toward the creek. Just before, I got a view across the valley. Spring was on it’s way:
Colors Of Trees

The views across the valley got more scarce the further down the bank I went. But the sound of the creek below me got louder and louder. I’m not sure why the sound of water running over rapids is so soothing. But I walked in constant anticipation of seeing them around each turn.

Soon I came upon a suspension bridge that spanned the water below (the first of several that day). I’m not usually afraid of heights, but when it got bouncy it got a little nerve-wracking. Here’s the view as I approached:
Suspension Bridge

And here’s the view looking back:
Suspension Bridge

It was really beautiful here, and I wish I could have stayed longer. But I still had a long way to go and the dreaded uphill trek was just ahead of me. So, I reloaded my water bottle, thanked God the pain killers had started working, shouldered my pack and kept going.

See all my pictures from this trip.

0 Responses to “Photos: From the Campsite to Cane Creek”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

